We Demand
Digital

SELF-DETERMINATION

Digital Self-Determination

We the citizens demand what is naturally our own: The right to control our own personal data. Digital self-determination must become a basic right!
Since the 25th of May, new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is in effect in all member states of the European Union (EU)

Every EU citizen now has the right to obtain a copy of his or her own personal data and to use it at will (EU GDPR, Art. 20 Right to data portability)

We demand equal right for Swiss citizens. The right to data portability must be integrated also into the Swiss data protection law as soon as possible:

DPL Ar. 25a (new) Right to Data Portability
1 Every person has the right to obtain respective personal data in a structured, prevalent, and machine-readable format.
2 Every person also has a right to grant access to or to transmit own data to accountable third party, without interference from the data provider.
3 The accountable data provider can deny, restrict or delay access to data, if legal interest of another party prevails.
A right to obtain a copy of our own data
We lost our digital self-determination
Our personal data related to our health, fitness, consumer habits, and education are routinely and constantly collected. This happens in many ways: With Apps, sensors in smart phones, at cash points in retail stores, via the web browser. Nowadays, personal data are a resource and constitute an important economical basis. Data are the infrastructure of the 21st. century.

 

Typically, we pay for online services not with money, but with our data: Cumulus membership is “free of charge”, webbrowsers can be downloaded and installed for free. But our own personal data are not stored under our own control. As a consequence we have become dependent on large corporations and data firms; we lost most of our digital self-determination. However, we can re-institute digital self-determination if we succeed to regain control over the use of our personal data.

The three properties of person-related data

Data are easy to copy

In contrast to physical objects, data can be copied at virtually no cost. A copy then allows for another use. A physician is obliged to store medical data for 10 years and has to provide the patient with a copy of his or her personal medical record. In this manner, the patient can take the record to another physician to obtain a second opinion or to grant access to scientists for participation in a research project. However, for many other collectors of our personal data this obligation does not apply.

We are all data billionaires

All people have or generate similar amount of person-related data. We are all billionaires with respect to our genome data, as we all have 6 billion base pairs in our genetic material. This is similarly valid for the number of steps we take or our heart beats.

Only the individual can aggregate all its personal data

Data related to my own person are of great value for me: In the future, we will be able to predict disease based on e.g. location, food consumption, sport, blood pressure, family history, and blood values. At the same time, we will be better at treating disease based on person-related data. Only the individual will know where these data are stored and only the individual will be able to aggregate them all. Therefore, only the individual will be able to take full advantage of his or her personal data.
In conclusion: The right to obtain a copy of our personal data will enable us to practice digital self-determination and to use them in our own best interest and to the benefit of society as a whole.
Let us re-establish digital self-determination by chartering data portability: A right to obtain copies of our own personal data
The Swiss Federal Government and Economiesuisse are both against data portability and do not want to grant individuals the right to obtain a copy of their own personal data. In 2015, Fathi Derder (National Council and member of the Swiss Liberal Democratic Party) handed a corresponding postulate to the Swiss Federal Council. The postulate was considered, but rejected and data portability is not included in the current revision of the Swiss data protection law.
SUPPORTERS
André Golliez

André Golliez

André Golliez, IT Consultant, president of OpenData.ch und CEO of the Swiss Data Alliance

“Digital self-determination will promote a fair and successful data economy!”

Ursula Uttinger

Ursula Uttinger

President Datenschutz-Forum, data protection specialist

“1984” is now reality. Let us prevent that also “the circle” comes true!

Balthasar Glättli

Balthasar Glättli

National Council GP, Member of the parliamentary group Digital Sustainability
Doris Fiala

Doris Fiala

National Council, Liberal Democratic Party of Switzerland

The right to obtain a copy of one’s personal data is a (liberal) basic right.
Thomas Gächter

Thomas Gächter

Prof. for constitutional law, administrative law, and social security law at the University of Zurich.
«Digitale Selbstbestimmung»
Verein Daten und Gesundheit

SOCIAL MEDIA

NOUS VOULONS
L’AUTODÉTERMINATION

NUMÉRIQUE

L’autodétermination numérique

Nous, citoyens, revendiquons ce qui nous appartient : le droit de contrôler nos propres données. L’autodétermination numérique doit être soumise à un régime de droit fondamental
Le 25 mai 2018, le règlement général sur la protection des données UE (RGPD) est entré en vigueur dans les États membres.

Depuis, chaque citoyenne et chaque citoyen de l’UE a le droit d’obtenir une copie de ses données personnelles et d’en disposer librement (règlement général sur la protection des données UE, art 20 de la portabilité des données).

Nous exigeons l’égalité juridique entre les citoyens suisses et les citoyens de l’UE. C’est la raison pour laquelle le droit à la portabilité des données doit également être inscrit le plus rapidement possible dans la loi suisse sur la protection des données (LPD)

LPD art. 25a (nouveau) Le droit à la portabilité des données
1 Toute personne a le droit d’obtenir les données personnelles la concernant dans un format structuré, courant et lisible par une machine.
2 En outre, elle a le droit de transmettre ces données à un autre responsable ou de les lui rendre directement accessibles sans en être empêchée par le responsable auquel elle a demandé la remise.
3 Le responsable peut refuser, limiter ou reporter la remise des données si cela s’avère nécessaire en raison d’intérêts prépondérants de tiers.
Le droit à la copie de ses données numériques
Nous avons perdu notre autodétermination numérique
Aujourd’hui, nos données personnelles, telles que les données sur notre santé, notre forme physique, nos achats et notre formation, sont collectées partout et tout le temps. Cela se fait de diverses manières : via des applications, des capteurs dans les smartphones, aux caisses lors des courses, sur Internet via votre navigateur Web. Aujourd’hui, les données personnelles sont une matière première et constituent une base économique importante. Elles sont l’infrastructure du 21ème siècle.

La plupart du temps, nous payons l’utilisation des services en ligne avec nos données au lieu d’argent : l’adhésion au programme Cumulus est « gratuite », les navigateurs Web sont « gratuits ». Mais ce n’est pas nous qui stockons ou contrôlons nos données. Nous sommes devenus dépendants numériquement de grands groupes et de sociétés gérant des données ; nous avons perdu une grande partie de notre autodétermination numérique. Nous pouvons rétablir l’autodétermination numérique en prenant le contrôle de l’utilisation de nos données.

Les trois caractéristiques des données personnelles

Les données sont faciles à copier

Contrairement aux objets physiques, les données sont faciles à copier et cela à moindre coût. Une copie de données peut permettre une nouvelle utilisation. Un médecin est tenu de conserver mes données médicales pendant 10 ans. Toutefois, je peux exiger une copie de ces données et les mettre à la disposition d’un autre médecin pour un second avis ou un projet de recherche. Or, cette obligation ne s’applique pas à de nombreux collecteurs de données..

Nous sommes tous milliardaires en données

Les données personnelles sont l’une des rares valeurs que toutes les personnes produisent ou possèdent une quantité similaire. À titre d’exemple, tous les humains sont milliardaires en données de génome, parce que nous possédons tous 6 milliards de paires de base dans notre patrimoine génétique. Cela s’applique également au nombre de pas ou aux battements du cœur.

Seul l'individu peut regrouper toutes ses données

Mes données me sont très précieuses : à l’avenir, en nous basant sur diverses données personnelles (où est-ce que je vis ?, qu’est-ce que je mange ?, quels sports je pratique ?, quelle est ma pression artérielle ?, quels sont mes antécédents familiaux ?, mes valeurs sanguines ?), nous serons en mesure d’identifier et de mieux traiter les maladies plus tôt. Je suis le seul à savoir où ces données sont collectées et comment les regrouper. C’est la seule manière pour moi d’utiliser correctement leur valeur.
Conclusion : avec le droit de recevoir une copie de toutes nos données, nous pouvons exercer l’autodétermination numérique et utiliser la valeur de nos données dans notre propre intérêt et pour le bien de tous.
Notre autodétermination numérique doit être restaurée par un « droit à la copie » acquis
Jusqu’à présent, la confédération et l’économie (Economiesuisse) se sont opposées à un « droit à la copie » sur le plan législatif. Un postulat soumis au Conseil fédéral en 2015 par le conseiller national PLR Fathi Derder a été certes examiné, mais il a ensuite été reporté en 2017 dans le cadre de la révision de la loi sur la protection des données (LPD). Economiesuisse s’oppose à la portabilité des données comme au droit à la copie défini par l’UE dans son nouveau règlement de base.
DÉFENSEUR
André Golliez

André Golliez

Consultant en informatique, président d’OpenData.ch et gérant de Swiss Data Alliance

« Vers une économie de données réussie et équitable grâce à l’autodétermination numérique ! »

Ursula Uttinger

Ursula Uttinger

Présidente du forum sur la protection des données, spécialiste de la protection des données

« 1984 » est depuis longtemps une réalité. Empêchons que « the circle » ne devienne aussi réalité !

Balthasar Glättli

Balthasar Glättli

Conseiller national LV, membre du groupe parlementaire durabilité numérique
Doris Fiala

Doris Fiala

Conseillère nationale PLR

Le droit à une copie de ses données est un droit fondamental libéral (original)
Thomas Gächter

Thomas Gächter

Prof. de droit constitutionnel, administratif et des assurances sociales, UZH (Université de Zurich)
« Autodétermination numérique»
Association données et santé (Daten und Gesundheit)
MÉDIAS SOCIAUX