We Demand
Digital

SELF-DETERMINATION

Digital Self-Determination

We the citizens demand what is naturally our own: The right to control our own personal data. Digital self-determination must become a basic right!
Since the 25th of May, new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is in effect in all member states of the European Union (EU)

Every EU citizen now has the right to obtain a copy of his or her own personal data and to use it at will (EU GDPR, Art. 20 Right to data portability)

We demand equal right for Swiss citizens. The right to data portability must be integrated also into the Swiss data protection law as soon as possible:

DPL Ar. 25a (new) Right to Data Portability
1 Every person has the right to obtain respective personal data in a structured, prevalent, and machine-readable format.
2 Every person also has a right to grant access to or to transmit own data to accountable third party, without interference from the data provider.
3 The accountable data provider can deny, restrict or delay access to data, if legal interest of another party prevails.
A right to obtain a copy of our own data
We lost our digital self-determination
Our personal data related to our health, fitness, consumer habits, and education are routinely and constantly collected. This happens in many ways: With Apps, sensors in smart phones, at cash points in retail stores, via the web browser. Nowadays, personal data are a resource and constitute an important economical basis. Data are the infrastructure of the 21st. century.

 

Typically, we pay for online services not with money, but with our data: Cumulus membership is “free of charge”, webbrowsers can be downloaded and installed for free. But our own personal data are not stored under our own control. As a consequence we have become dependent on large corporations and data firms; we lost most of our digital self-determination. However, we can re-institute digital self-determination if we succeed to regain control over the use of our personal data.

The three properties of person-related data

Data are easy to copy

In contrast to physical objects, data can be copied at virtually no cost. A copy then allows for another use. A physician is obliged to store medical data for 10 years and has to provide the patient with a copy of his or her personal medical record. In this manner, the patient can take the record to another physician to obtain a second opinion or to grant access to scientists for participation in a research project. However, for many other collectors of our personal data this obligation does not apply.

We are all data billionaires

All people have or generate similar amount of person-related data. We are all billionaires with respect to our genome data, as we all have 6 billion base pairs in our genetic material. This is similarly valid for the number of steps we take or our heart beats.

Only the individual can aggregate all its personal data

Data related to my own person are of great value for me: In the future, we will be able to predict disease based on e.g. location, food consumption, sport, blood pressure, family history, and blood values. At the same time, we will be better at treating disease based on person-related data. Only the individual will know where these data are stored and only the individual will be able to aggregate them all. Therefore, only the individual will be able to take full advantage of his or her personal data.
In conclusion: The right to obtain a copy of our personal data will enable us to practice digital self-determination and to use them in our own best interest and to the benefit of society as a whole.
Let us re-establish digital self-determination by chartering data portability: A right to obtain copies of our own personal data
The Swiss Federal Government and Economiesuisse are both against data portability and do not want to grant individuals the right to obtain a copy of their own personal data. In 2015, Fathi Derder (National Council and member of the Swiss Liberal Democratic Party) handed a corresponding postulate to the Swiss Federal Council. The postulate was considered, but rejected and data portability is not included in the current revision of the Swiss data protection law.
SUPPORTERS
André Golliez

André Golliez

André Golliez, IT Consultant, president of OpenData.ch und CEO of the Swiss Data Alliance

“Digital self-determination will promote a fair and successful data economy!”

Ursula Uttinger

Ursula Uttinger

President Datenschutz-Forum, data protection specialist

“1984” is now reality. Let us prevent that also “the circle” comes true!

Balthasar Glättli

Balthasar Glättli

National Council GP, Member of the parliamentary group Digital Sustainability
Doris Fiala

Doris Fiala

National Council, Liberal Democratic Party of Switzerland

The right to obtain a copy of one’s personal data is a (liberal) basic right.
Thomas Gächter

Thomas Gächter

Prof. for constitutional law, administrative law, and social security law at the University of Zurich.
«Digitale Selbstbestimmung»
Verein Daten und Gesundheit

SOCIAL MEDIA

WIR WOLLEN

DIGITALE

SELBST-

BESTIMMUNG

Digitale Selbstbestimmung

Wir Bürger fordern, was uns gehört: Das Recht, die eigenen Daten zu kontrollieren. Die digitale Selbstbestimmung muss als grundlegendes Recht verankert werden!

Am 25. Mai 2018 hat die EU Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) in Mitgliedsstaaten Geltung erlangt.

Jede EU-Bürgerin und jeder EU-Bürger hat seither das Recht, eine Kopie der eigenen Daten zu erhalten und über diese Datenkopie frei zu verfügen (EU Datenschutzgrundverordnung, Art 20 Datenübertragbarkeit).

Wir verlangen die rechtliche Gleichstellung der Schweizerinnen und Schweizer mit den EU-Bürgern. Daher soll das Recht auf Datenportabilität so rasch wie möglich auch im Schweizer Datenschutzgesetz (DSG) verankert werden:

DSG Art. 25a (neu) Recht auf Datenportabilität
1 Jede Person hat das Recht, die sie betreffenden Personendaten in einem strukturierten, gängigen und maschinenlesbaren Format zu erhalten.
2 Sie hat zudem das Recht, diese Daten einem anderen Verantwortlichen zu übermitteln oder diesem direkt zugänglich zu machen, ohne vom Verantwortlichen, von dem sie die Herausgabe verlangt, behindert zu werden.
3 Der Verantwortliche kann die Herausgabe der Daten verweigern, einschränken oder aufschieben, wenn dies aufgrund überwiegender Interessen Dritter erforderlich ist.

Das Recht auf Kopie seiner digitalen Daten

Wir haben unsere digitale Selbstbestimmung verloren

Unsere persönliche Daten wie z.B. Gesundheits-, Fitness-, Einkaufs-, Bildungsdaten werden heute überall und stetig gesammelt. Dies geschieht auf vielfältige Art und Weise: Via Apps, Sensoren in Smartphones, an Kassen beim Einkauf, im Internet über den Webbrowser. Personenbezogene Daten sind heute ein Rohstoff und bilden eine wichtige, ökonomische Grundlage. Sie sind die Infrastruktur des 21. Jahrhunderts.

Meist bezahlen wir die Nutzung von Online-Diensten mit unseren Daten statt mit Geld: Die Cumulus Mitgliedschaft ist „gratis“, Webbrowser sind „gratis“. Unsere Daten werden aber nicht von uns selber gespeichert oder kontrolliert. Dadurch sind wir in eine digitale Abhängigkeit von Konzernen und Datenfirmen geraten; wir haben einen grossen Teil unserer digitalen Selbstbestimmung verloren.Wir können digitale Selbstbestimmung wieder herstellen, wenn wir die Kontrolle über die Verwendung unserer Daten gewinnen.

Die drei Eigenschaften von personenbezogenen Daten

Daten sind einfach zu kopieren

Daten sind im Gegensatz zu physischen Objekten einfach und fast kostenlos kopierbar. Mit der Datenkopie kann eine neue Nutzung erfolgen. Ein Arzt ist verpflichtet meine medizinischen Daten 10 Jahre aufzubewahren. Ich kann jedoch eine Kopie dieser Daten verlangen und diese einem anderen Arzt für eine Zweitmeinung oder einem Forschungsprojekt zur Verfügung stellen. Diese Verpflichtung gilt aber für viele Datensammler nicht.

Jeder ist ein Datenmilliardär

Personenbezogene Daten sind einer der wenigen Werte, von denen alle Personen ähnlich viel erzeugen, beziehungsweise besitzen. Alle Menschen sind beispielsweise Milliardäre in Genomdaten, denn wir alle besitzen 6 Milliarden Basenpaare in unserem Erbgut. Dies gilt ähnlich auch für die Anzahl der Schritte oder Herzschläge.

Nur der Einzelne kann alle seine Daten zusammenführen

Meine Daten sind für mich selbst sehr wertvoll: In der Zukunft werden wir in der Lage sein, aufgrund verschiedener personenbezogener Daten (wo halte ich mich auf?, was esse ich?, wieviel Sport mache ich?, was ist mein Blutdruck?, meine Familiengeschichte?, meine Blutwerte?) Krankheiten früher erkennen und besser behandeln zu können.  Nur ich weiss, wo diese Daten gesammelt sind, und kann sie zusammenzuführen. Nur so kann ich ihren Wert richtig nutzen.

Fazit: Mit dem Recht, eine Kopie all unserer Daten zu erhalten, können wir digitale Selbstbestimmung ausüben und den Wert unserer Daten im eigenen Interesse und zum Wohle aller nutzen.

Unsere Digitale Selbstbestimmung soll wiederhergestellt werden durch ein verbrieftes «Recht auf Kopie»

Bund und Wirtschaft (Economiesuisse) haben sich bisher gegen ein “Recht auf Kopie” auf Gesetzesebene gestemmt. Ein im Jahre 2015 von FDP Nationalrat Fathi Derder an den Bundesrat überwiesenes Postulat wurde zwar geprüft, dann aber im Rahmen der Revision des Datenschutz-Gesetzes (DSG) im Jahr 2017 zurückgestellt. Economiesuisse stellt sich gegen die Datenportabilität, wie sie die EU in ihrer neuen Grundverordnung das Recht auf Kopie definiert.

BEFÜRWORTER

André Golliez

André Golliez

André Golliez, IT Consultant, Präsident OpenData.ch und Geschäftsführer Swiss Data Alliance

“Dank digitaler Selbstbestimmung zu einer erfolgreichen und fairen Datenwirtschaft!”

Ursula Uttinger

Ursula Uttinger

Präsidentin Datenschutz-Forum, Datenschutzspezialistin

„1984“ ist längst Realität. Verhindern wir, dass auch „the circle“ Realität wird!

Balthasar Glättli

Balthasar Glättli

Nationalrat GP, Mitglied der parlamentarischen Gruppe Digitale Nachhaltigkeit

Doris Fiala

Doris Fiala

Nationalrätin FDP

Das Recht auf eine Kopie seiner Daten ist ein (ur-)liberales Grundrecht

Thomas Gächter

Thomas Gächter

Prof. für Staats- Verwaltungs- und Sozialversicherungsrecht, UZH

«Digitale Selbstbestimmung»
Verein Daten und Gesundheit

SOCIAL MEDIA